The Importance of Books

I am not sure who first made such an impression on me to adore books, but it came early. In the fourth grade, I remember reading adult level books daily. I was that kid, who was reading everywhere. I was never to be found without a book that I could whip out in a seconds notice and leave this world behind. I cannot even begin to calculate how many I have read over the years, but the adoration never dwindled. To this day, when I get a new book, my heart flutters. I am working to instill this love to my children. As we finished our last book on friday, I told my daughter she can pick the next book from Amazon.com.  I was delighted. At first she wanted to read Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder again. She must have really enjoyed that one. We usually read a chapter a day, so we read that for about a month. Instead I showed her that those books have many parts, and we can just pick up where we left off in the last book! I am so excited about my girl. She is 2nd grade reading on a 4th grade level proficiently.  If you can read, you can learn anything!

Readers are learners, and learners are leaders!

Leave a Reply

