Planning is Better than Money

When I first started homeschooling, I bought a fancy package of curriculum, tried to get the same supplies that she would have used in school, and subscribed the many online websites for learning activites. But as my second year will soon begin, I must confess, I could have saved a lot of money! Not to say you should not invest in education. That’s not what I am saying at all! But you can plan ahead, read the wisdom of other moms out there, and buy used when possible. I found many options were free to a good home! How cool is that!! On sites such as amazon.com and ebay, I can find used textbooks, workbooks, and many many reading books that I use constantly. We read chapter books, and that serves two purposes. First of all, it is teaching reading, of course. But also, if you pick the right books, they can serve as a history lesson as well. My dd, after diving into Little House in the Big Woods, became obsessed with the pioneer period! She created covered wagons in the living room, walks around in long play dresses and makes bonnets, just like Laura! If you are excited and wise, it goes much farther than just putting money into a boxed set!

Readers are learners, and learners are leaders!

One thought on “Planning is Better than Money

  1. From my years of homeschooling, I have to agree! There are lots of free resources everywhere, especially online. One great resource for me has been our public library. We are able to request books online through the library website, even books from other library circuits, and pick them up on our weekly visit in the “hold” section. We also found great books and magazines for sale at the library!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

