Step 1

I spent much time researching how to teach a child to read. I didn’t want them to just spout out words. I wanted them to have a passion for reading, just as I do. I know this will sound like a broken record, but I cannot stress enough the importace of reading to your children. Don’t fall for the old tale that they can’t understand this or that. We have read some nobels, chapter books, ect. Just take your time and talk about it as you read. Talk about meanings of words, what they felt like, what it may have looked like, and so on. We have read little house in the big woods, and this gets high recommendations! My children now know about churning butter, storing food, sewing, and much more about life in pioneer days. Even my 2 year old would want to sit and listen. Be sure to make this a special time. Make hot cocoa. Maybe sit and watch the birds eat from a recently filled bird feeder outside. Be excited about book time. And one thing I have found, is if you don’t insist they sit there and listen, they will want to all the more. We try to read a chapter a day. Currently we are reading God’s Generals for children on Aimee Semple McPherson. My 8 years old absolutely loves this. It is very easy to understand and has awesome stories in it. I sometimes pull up a YouTube video and let her see what Aimee looked like at that time. My 2 year old is working his way through My First 100 words. He gets just as excited over his special book time. Let them see pictures, and get them involved. But just as important as reading to them is your personal attitude toward books and reading. Don’t make it a chore “We have got to read now!” Make them realize that reading and the love for books is something you share. Let them see you read in your free time. Tell them about books you like, and are reading.  So I would say step 1 is read read read!

Leave a Reply

